top of page

The Daughter by Lucy Dawson


Creepy, gripping and intense - what more could you want? ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The blurb:

You lost your daughter. You will never forgive yourself. And now someone wants to make you pay… Seventeen years ago, something happened to Jess’s daughter Beth. The memory of it still makes her blood run cold. Jess has tried everything to make peace with that day, and the part she played in what happened. It was only a brief moment of desire… but she’ll pay for it with a lifetime of guilt. To distance herself from the mistakes of the past, Jess has moved away and started over with her family. But when terrifying things begin happening in her new home, seemingly connected to what happened to Beth, Jess knows that her past has finally caught up with her. Somebody feels Jess hasn’t paid enough, and is determined to make her suffer for the secrets she’s kept all these years.

The review:


I do love me a good thriller and let me introduce you to an EXCELLENT one.

This one grabs you instantly. The worst happens incredibly early on and you're left reeling. Your emotions are all over the place and you wonder how on earth this story will continue.

Then cut to seventeen years later. This could have felt incredibly disjointed as I was already absorbed with the story, but Dawson is a great writer and after one page I was just as consumed by the present day part of the story.

From then on in I could not put it down. It starts to get super creepy and I LOVED THAT. There were parts where I was genuinely freaked out and unsettled, as the tension of the story starts to build. There was one part, I'll just say, that featured the clocks (no spoilers here!) that made my skin crawl!

Great, fully fleshed out characters that you believe in and care about, a fast paced story and enough intrigue to make you second guess who you think the'culprit' is, all come together to make this a stellar tale. I'll be looking up more of Dawson's books that's for sure.

The Daughter is published on 24th January by Bookouture.

Big thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for the advanced copy in exchange for this honest review.

bottom of page